Experiences

Partners
Partenaires

Cellular Design

François Azambourg  - Don E. Ingber

24 september 2010 - 17 january 2011

From 24 September 2010 to 17 January 2011, Le Laboratoire is running an original experimental exhibition on the theme of water, and in particular, the transport of water; the exhibition looks at how this could be made environmentally reliable and more natural.

To probe these questions, French designer François Azambourg and American scientist Donald Ingber brought together a panel of researchers, with the assignment of coming up with a prototype container as close to nature as possible. The panel looked into the feasibility of transporting water via a system inspired by the biological cell, based on a suggestion made in the course of a number of lectures in Harvard University during the fall of 2008 by Professor David Edwards, the founder of Le Laboratoire. Originally perceived as rather utopian, it is now considered that this could actually be done by harnessing the expertise of experienced specialists.

François Azambourg has since been developing this idea through new forms of cell design, and has been preparing the set for Le Laboratoire exhibition.

As part of Le Laboratoire's participative approach, he invited ENSCI students to actively participate in the project.

The experiment is being developed in close collaboration with the scientist Donald Ingber, a cellular biochemistry specialist, and David Edwards, with input from the French researchers Raphaël Haumont and Sidi Bencherif, specialized in the physicochemical properties of materials.

Entitled Cellular Design, the exhibition will go through the various project steps, from initial tests (successes and failures alike) to new forms of bottles incorporating a cellular and ephemeral design.


10

Read the Press release: CELLULAR DESIGN

François Azambourg & Don E. Ingber

24 september 2010 - 17 january 2011

Photos: Laboratoire/Azambourg Download the press release

Expériences

Partenaires
Partenaires

10. Le Design Cellulaire

François Azambourg - Don E. Ingber 

24 septembre 2010 - 17 janvier 2011

Du 24 septembre 2010 au 17 janvier 2011, Le Laboratoire présente une exposition expérience inédite sur la thématique de l'eau et plus particulièrement celle de son transport. Comment le rendre écologiquement fi able et plus naturel ?

Pour répondre à cette problématique, le designer François Azambourg et le scientifique Don E. Ingber ont réunit un panel de chercheurs et se sont attachés à inventer un modèle de contenant qui soit au plus proche de la nature. Imaginons la possibilité de transporter l'eau en s'inspirant du modèle de la cellule biologique... Cette suggestion soulevée à Harvard à l'automne 2008, lors d'un cours mené par le fondateur du Laboratoire, le Professeur David Edwards, est à l'origine des travaux en cours au Laboratoire. Elle pourrait sembler utopique et pourtant elle s'avère être réalisable grâce à l'intervention d'experts renommés.

François Azambourg travaille depuis à des nouvelles formes de design cellulaire et élabore la scénographie de l'exposition qui sera présentée au Laboratoire. Dans une volonté participative, il a convié ses étudiants de l'ENSCI à s'inscrire
activement dans le projet.

L'expérience est menée en étroite collaboration avec le scientifique américain Don E. Ingber, spécialiste de la biochimie cellulaire et David Edwards ; accompagné des chercheurs français Raphaël Haumont et Sidi Bencherif, spécialistes de la physique-chimie des matériaux.

L'exposition Le Design Cellulaire présente les étapes fondamentales inhérentes à la réalisation du projet ; des essais réussis mais également loupés ; et enfin des nouvelles formes de bouteilles autour d'un design cellulaire et éphémère....


10

Le Design Cellulaire

François Azambourg & Don E. Ingber

24 septembre 2010 - 17 janvier 2011

Photos: Laboratoire/Azambourg Téléchargez le dossier de presse