Experiences

Partenaires
Partenaires

THE NEGATION OF TIME, PROLOGUE

From William Kentridge with Peter Galison and Philip Miller

25 march - 26 june 2011

What's the Time? How do we measure it? Can we deny it? These are all questions which, by their physical, technological and philosophical aspects still arise like a puzzle, at the same time both realistic and subjective. As part of the 12th experiment presented at Le Laboratoire, the South African artist William Kentridge and the American scientist Peter Galison wonder about the simultaneity of time as a creative process.

Known for his animated films composed of charcoal drawings, William Kentridge is one of the few South African artists to be internationally renowned. His graphic works, full of poetry and political commitment denounce apartheid and colonialism through symbolic themes such as equality or justice. The artist explores areas as rich and diverse as printmaking, collage, sculpture, performance, theater or opera.

His meeting with Peter Galison, professor of History of Science at the University Joseph Pellegrino and of Physics at Harvard University (author of the famous essay: Einstein's Clocks, Poincare's Maps: Empire of Time of the Editions Robert Laffont) arises as a creative opportunity for multiple purposes.

William Kentdrige incorporates temporality as an inventive concept, if not imaginary; where subjectivity plays a role of realism inherent in the representation of time. According to him, "Peter Galison's work offers extremely rich aesthetic and metaphoric possibilities. The history of relativity in size to both scientific and philosophical, still fascinates us and provide the bulk of visual material to explore the metaphorical implications. The themes of simultaneity, time slows down and speeds, synchronicity and its absence, are exciting and suggest many leads. I imagine for now something that would be somewhere in between performance and installation, between opera and conference, which mixes the transient nature of the presentation and some performance. "




12

  • Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
  • Image 5

THE NEGATION OF TIME, PROLOGUE

From William Kentridge with Peter Galison and Philip Miller

25 march - 26 june 2011

Photos: © Le Laboratoire Download the Press Release  
Watch the Exhibition Video

Expériences

Partenaires
Partenaires

12. La négation du temps, prologue

De William Kentridge avec Peter Galison et Philip Miller

25 mars - 26 juin 2011

Qu’est-ce-que le temps ? Comment le mesurer ? Peut-on le nier? Autant de questions qui par leur aspect physique, technologique et philosophique se posent encore comme une énigme tout à la fois réaliste et subjective. Dans le cadre de la 12e expérience présentée au Laboratoire, l’artiste sud-africain William Kentridge et le scientifique américain Peter Galison s’interrogent sur la simultanéité du temps en tant que processus créatif.

Connu pour ses films d’animation composés de dessins au fusain, William Kentridge est  l’un des rares artistes d’Afrique du Sud à jouir d’une grande notoriété internationale. Son œuvre graphique, empreinte de poésie et d’engagement politique dénonce l’apartheid et le colonialisme au travers de thèmes symboliques comme l’égalité ou la justice. L’artiste explore des domaines aussi riches et variés que la gravure, le collage, la sculpture, la performance, le théâtre ou encore l’opéra.

Sa rencontre avec Peter Galison, professeur d’Histoire des sciences à l’université Joseph Pellegrino et de Physique à l’université d’Harvard (auteur du célèbre essaiL’Empire du Temps, les horloges d’Einstein et les cartes de Poincaré aux éditions Robert Laffont) se pose telle une opportunité créative aux multiples desseins.

William Kentdrige intègre la temporalité comme une notion  inventive, voire imaginaire ; où la subjectivité se joue du réalisme inhérent à la représentation du temps. Selon lui, « le travail de Peter Galison offre des possibilités esthétiques et métaphoriques extrêmement riches. L’histoire de la relativité, dans ses dimensions à la fois scientifiques et philosophiques, nous fascine toujours et fournira l’essentiel du matériau visuel pour en explorer les implications métaphoriques. Les thèmes de la simultanéité, du temps qui ralentit et accélère, de la synchronie et de son absence, sont tous passionnants et suggèrent de nombreuses pistes. J’imagine pour l’instant quelque chose qui se situerait entre performance et installation, entre opéra et conférence, qui mêle le côté éphémère de la prestation et une certaine permanence. »

12

  • Image 1
  • Image 2
  • Image 3
  • Image 4
  • Image 5

La négation du temps, prologue

De William Kentridge avec Peter Galison et Philip Miller
25 mars - 26 juin 2011

Photos: © Le Laboratoire Téléchargez le dossier de presse
Visionnez le reportage de l’exposition