Experiences

Partners
Partners

Figure Studies

David Michalek

5 october 2012 - 6 january 2013

At the conclusion of its 15th experiment, Le Laboratoire presents Figure Studies by American artist David Michalek. The work applies the technology of high-speed HD video toward capturing scenes and subject matter reminiscent of the famous Eadweard Muybridge and Etienne-Jules Marey photo-studies of human movement.

David Michalek filmed men and women at (3000 frames per second, so that products an exceptional slow-motion.

The human subjects are specialized bodies shaped by athletics, dancing, and physical labor, as well as non-specialized bodies. Within each group, there is a broad range of ages and body-types as well as ethnic and cultural backgrounds.

Each subject is seen executing a particular movement sequence or concept that was arrived at through both artistic as well as scientific considerations -- the latter in conjunction with Harvard Biologist, Dr. Dan Lieberman. He helped to define a variety of biomechanical categories.

Figure Studies is displayed on large projecting screens. The visitor discovers the captivating force of gestures decomposed by slow motion, which places them somewhere between phantasmagoria and scientific analysis, inviting the gaze to settle in a space where time is suspended.

15

  • Image 1 Image 1
  • Image 1 Image 1
  • Image 1 Image 1

Figure Studies

David Michalek

5 october 2012 - 6 january 2013Photos: 

© David Michalek/Revolving Prod

Download press release                   Click to View the film

Expériences

Partenaires
Partenaires

15. Figure Studies

David Michalek

5 octobre 2012 - 6 janvier 2013

Pour sa 15e expérience, Le Laboratoire présente Figure Studies de l’artiste américain David Michalek ; une œuvre vidéo dont la capture des images est réalisée à haute vitesse et dont le traitement du mouvement rappelle les célèbres études photographiques d’Eadweard Muybridge et Etienne-Jule Marey sur la locomotion humaine.

David Michalek a filmé des hommes et des femmes en mouvement à une cadence de 3000 images par seconde, ce qui produit un ralenti des corps exceptionnel.

Les sujets filmés sont représentatifs d’un large éventail d’âges et de morphologies, d’origines culturelles et ethniques ; ils sont soient façonnés par l’athlétisme, la danse, le travail physique ou sont tout simplement des corps ordinaires.

Pour le choix des séquences, le biologiste de l’Université d’Harvard, Dan Lieberman, a apporté son concours scientifique en aidant à définir différentes catégories biomécaniques.

Figure Studies est projeté sur grands écrans. Le visiteur découvre la force attractive de gestes décomposés par un ralenti de l’image qui, entre fantasmagorie et décryptage scientifique, invite le regard dans une suspension du temps.

15

  • Image 1 Image 1
  • Image 1 Image 1
  • Image 1 Image 1

    Figure Studies

    David Michalek

    5 octobre 2012 - 6 janvier 2013

    © David Michalek / Photo D. Michalek & Revolving Prod

    Téléchargez le dossier de presse                                       Lire de Dossier pedagogique      Cliquer pour voir le Film