Experiences

Partners
Partenaires

V≠L

Ryoji Ikeda - Benedict Gross

11 october 2008 - 12 january 2009

Le Laboratoire is pleased to present, for the first time in Europe, a personal exhibition of the Japanese artist Ryoji Ikeda, a major figure of the sound and visual electronic scene. From his correspondence with the American mathematician Benedict Gross, he has conceived a work where the definition of the sublime blends with the immateriality of infinity. Welcome to a world of millimeter precision.

An avant-garde composer of ultra-sonic frequencies; an explorer of minimal sounds; an artist of visible waves, Ryoji Ikeda explores the interference between reality and unexplored dimensions. His musical structures strive to develop perception by bodies; his sound and visual installations fill up a design space, between darkness and light.

Decibels take life and run up against each other; sounds are oppressive yet liberating; is it resonance or silence that we’re hearing? Waves make light of the light, gently mocking; from shadow to light the atmosphere vibrates inside a sonic and audiovisual temporality, whose only hidden meaning is in the

suggested truth.
From Infinity to the sublime, Ryoji Ikeda instills a new dimension whose theoretical definition embraces the science of mathematics.

V≠L
V denotes the von Neumann universe and L denotes Godel’s constructible universe. Their equality or inequality is a disputed point, and the position one chooses to take on whether V=L or V≠L reveals a great deal about one’s philosophy of mathematics. If V≠L, then not every set of numbers is constructible. The removal of this restriction allows for the inclusion of numbers that are almost beyond the limits of human comprehension. More than just a mathematical equation, this expression inspires contemplation of that which we cannot perceive, which can lead to a transcendent experience of the sublime.

05

V≠L

11 october 2008 - 12 january 2009
Ryoji ikeda & Benedict Gross

Photos: © Marc Domage Download the press release

Expériences

Partenaires
Partenaires

5. V≠L

Ryoji Ikeda - Benedict Gross

11 octobre 2008 - 12 janvier 2009

Le Laboratoire présente pour la première fois en Europe, une exposition personnelle de l’artiste japonais Ryoji Ikeda, figure de la scène électronique sonore et visuelle. De ses échanges avec le mathématicien américain Benedict Gross, l’artiste inaugure une œuvre où la définition du sublime s’accorde à l’immatérialité de l’infini. Bienvenue dans un univers à la précision millimétrique.

Compositeur à l’avant-garde des fréquences ultrasoniques ; explorateur des sonorités minimales ; artiste des ondes visibles ; Ryoji Ikeda cherche l’interférence entre réalité et dimension inexplorée. Ses structures musicales s’attachent à développer la perception par les corps; ses installations acoustiques et visuelles remplissent un espace design, entre obscurité et clarté.
Les décibels se posent et s’entrechoquent ; les sons oppressent et libèrent ; est-ce la résonance ou le silence qui s’installe ? Les ondes se jouent de la lumière ; de l’ombre à la luminosité l’atmosphère vacille à l’intérieur d’une temporalité visuelle et sonore dont l’énigme n’a de sens que dans la vérité suggérée. De l’infini au sublime, Ryoji Ikeda insuffle l’existence d’une dimension nouvelle dont la définition théorique rejoint la science des mathématiques.

V≠L
Dans la théorie des ensembles, V représente l’univers de von neumann et L l’univers constructible de Gödel. L’égalité ou l’inégalité de ces deux univers est un point contesté, et la position adoptée selon qu’on considère que V=L ou que V≠L en dit long sur la philosophie des mathématiques sous- jacente. si V≠L, alors tous les ensembles de nombres ne sont pas constructibles. La levée de cette restriction permet en revanche l’inclusion de nombres allant presque au-delà des limites de l’entendement humain. Davantage qu’une simple équation mathématique, l’expression V≠L inspire la contemplation de ce que nous ne pouvons pas percevoir et peut amener à une expérience transcendante du sublime.

05

V≠L

11 octobre 2008 au 12 janvier 2009
Ryoji ikeda & Benedict Gross

Photos: © Marc Domage Téléchargez le dossier de presse